Michel Chartier becomes president of the Ami.e.s du carré civique de Saint-Boniface

He brings valuable knowledge and expertise to the Board, particularly as a seasoned negotiator. 

Other articles

Share:

 

Press Release

Download the Press Release

 

Winnipeg, March 15, 2024 - Michel Chartier was named President of Les Ami.e.s du carré civique de Saint-Boniface at the Board of Directors meeting following the Annual General Meeting held on February 1. 

A native of Saint-Lazare, Manitoba, Michel Chartier is a lawyer with Monk Goodwin LLP specializing in civil litigation and administrative law, with a particular interest in heritage preservation issues. He brings valuable knowledge and expertise to the Board, particularly as a seasoned negotiator. 

“I am honoured by the confidence of my colleagues on the Board who have chosen me as Chairman," says Michel Chartier. The mission of Les Ami.e.s du carré civique is fundamental for Saint-Boniface, since its success will enable us to safeguard for future generations a jewel of our heritage that tells a large part of the story of Manitoba's French-speaking community. But more than just preserving buildings, the mission of Les Ami.e.s. is also to ensure that this site remains vibrant and public, and that it serves the residents of the neighbourhood and all Winnipeggers. That's what we're continuing to work on with our partner organizations and the City of Winnipeg.”

At its inaugural meeting on February 28, the Board of Directors of the Friends of the St. Boniface Civic Square also appointed the other members of its Executive Committee. In addition to Michel Chartier as president, they are: vice-president Bintou Sacko, treasurer Marc Normandeau and secretary Walter Kleinschmit. David Dandeneau is responsible for fundraising initiatives and Sylviane Lanthier is in charge of communications and social media.

Carole Boily, Lucienne Châteauneuf, Alex Comeault, Ruphine Djuissi, Nicholas Douklias, Roland Painchaud, Bertrand Pauget and Gilles Pelletier complete the Board of Directors.

Following recent public consultations on the future of the Civic Square, and an online survey in which some 1,000 people gave their views, the City is organising a fourth meeting of the public engagement committee leading the project. 

The meeting, which takes place on 15 March, is Michel Chartier's first as president of Les Ami.e.s du carré civique. The purpose of the meeting is to allow municipal administrators and some twenty people representing various community organizations to take stock of the consultations and prepare a report to be submitted to the Standing Committee on Property and Development. 

The president of the Ami.e.s du carré civique de Saint-Boniface points out that at this stage, "It is essential that the municipal council agree that the city should retain ownership of the former city hall, the fire station, the sculpture garden and the building housing the offices of the Festival du Voyageur”. Michel Chartier stresses that it is "equally essential that the City commit to negotiating a long-term lease with a community organisation that will be responsible for managing this land and the heritage buildings on it". 

Become a Member

Your $5 annual membership ensures the continuity of the entire St. Boniface Civic Square for the benefit of Manitoba's Francophonie. With your membership, you will receive accurate and current information on the development of this property. You will also have the opportunity to participate in the governance of the organization.

Make a Donation

Les Ami.e.s du carré civique de Saint-Boniface inc. is a charitable organization (charitable number - 793544701) that will issue a tax receipt for all donations received.

One-time donations can be made by PayPal, credit or debit card. • By e-transfer to: Les Ami.e.s du carré civique de Saint-Boniface inc. , with notice to carrecivique@gmail.com • By cheque payable to: Les Ami.e.s du carré civique de Saint-Boniface inc. • Send to our PO Box.

Michel Chartier devient président des Ami.e.s du carré civique de Saint-Boniface

Il apporte au conseil d’administration des connaissances et une expertise précieuses, notamment en tant que négociateur aguerri. 

Autres articles

Partager:

 

Communiqué de presse

Télécharger le document

 

Winnipeg, le 15 mars 2024 – Michel Chartier a été nommé président des Ami.e.s du carré civique de Saint-Boniface lors de la rencontre du conseil d’administration qui a suivi l’assemblée générale annuelle du 1er février dernier. 

Originaire de Saint-Lazare au Manitoba, Michel Chartier est un avocat de la firme Monk Goodwin LLP spécialisé en litige civil et droit administratif, qui s’intéresse en particulier aux questions relevant de la sauvegarde du patrimoine. Il apporte au conseil d’administration des connaissances et une expertise précieuses, notamment en tant que négociateur aguerri. 

« Je suis honoré de la confiance de mes collègues du conseil d’administration qui m’ont choisi comme président, déclare Michel Chartier. La mission des Ami.e.s du carré civique est fondamentale pour Saint-Boniface, puisque sa réussite permettra de sauvegarder pour les générations futures un fleuron de notre patrimoine qui raconte une grande partie de l’histoire de la francophonie manitobaine. Mais plus que de sauvegarder des immeubles, la mission des Ami.e.s. veut aussi que ce lieu demeure vivant, public, et qu’il soit au service des résidants du quartier et de l’ensemble des Winnipégois. C’est ce à quoi nous continuons de travailler avec les organismes partenaires et la Ville de Winnipeg. »

Lors de sa réunion inaugurale le 28 février dernier, le conseil d’administration des Ami.e.s du carré civique de Saint-Boniface a aussi nommé les autres membres de son comité exécutif. Outre Michel Chartier à la présidence, ils sont : la vice-présidente Bintou Sacko, le trésorier Marc Normandeau et le secrétaire Walter Kleinschmit. David Dandeneau est responsable des initiatives de levée de fonds et Sylviane Lanthier est responsable des communications et des médias sociaux.

Carole Boily, Lucienne Châteauneuf, Alex Comeault, Ruphine Djuissi, Nicholas Douklias, Roland Painchaud, Bertrand Pauget et Gilles Pelletier complètent la composition du conseil d’administration.

À la suite des consultations publiques récentes sur l’avenir du carré civique, et alors qu’un sondage en ligne a permis à quelque 1000 personnes de donner leur avis, la Ville organise une quatrième rencontre du comité d’engagement public qui mène ce projet. 

Cette réunion qui a lieu le 15 mars est la première rencontre à laquelle Michel Chartier participe en tant que président des Ami.e.s du carré civique. Cette rencontre doit permettre à des administrateurs municipaux et à une vingtaine de personnes représentant divers organismes de la communauté de faire le point sur les consultations et de préparer un rapport qui sera soumis au Comité permanent de la propriété et du développement. 

Le président des Ami.e.s du carré civique de Saint-Boniface rappelle qu’à cette étape, « il est essentiel que le conseil municipal convienne que la Ville doit demeurer propriétaire de l’ancien hôtel de ville, de la caserne des pompiers, du Jardin de sculptures et de l’édifice dans lequel se trouve les bureaux du Festival du Voyageur ». Michel Chartier souligne qu’il est « tout aussi essentiel que la Ville s’engage à négocier un bail à long terme avec un organisme de la communauté qui sera chargé de la gestion de ce terrain et des bâtiments patrimoniaux qui s’y trouvent ». 

Devenir membre

Votre adhésion annuelle de 5 $ assure la pérennité de l’ensemble du carré civique de Saint-Boniface au profit de la francophonie manitobaine. Avec votre adhésion, vous recevrez des informations précises et courantes sur le développement de cette propriété. Vous aurez également l’occasion de participer à la gouvernance de l’organisation.

Faire un don

Les Ami.e.s du carre civique de Saint-Boniface inc. sont un organisme de bienfaisance (numéro de charité – 793544701) qui émettra un reçue pour fin d’impôts pour tous les dons reçus.

Dons ponctuels peuvent être faits par PayPal, carte de crédit ou débit. • Par e-transfert à : Les Ami.e.s du carre civique de Saint-Boniface inc. , avec avis à l’adresse courriel carrecivique@gmail.com • Par chèque payable a Les Ami.e.s du carre civique de Saint-Boniface inc. • Envoyer à notre case postale.