Les Ami.e.s du carré civique de Saint-Boniface invite the public to show support for the civic square on May 9

Press Release

Other articles

Share:

Winnipeg, May 2, 2024 – Les Ami.e.s. du carré civique de Saint-Boniface invite the public to read the municipal administration's report on the future of the old town hall of Saint-Boniface, its former fire station and the Sculpture Garden, which will be made public tomorrow.

Les Ami.e.s du carré civique will be present at the meeting of the Standing Policy Committee on Property and Development, which will discuss the recommendations of this report on May 9. We invite the public to join us in reaffirming to the City the importance of this heritage site for the entire community.

As of May 3, the report will be available on the City's website. (We will also put a link to the report on our own website, carrecivique.ca.) The document written by property manager Gordon Chappell concludes an exhaustive consultation process carried out over the winter.

“We are impatient to see this report made public and we expect the City to respect the wishes of the citizens who expressed themselves during the consultations,” indicates the president of Les Ami.e.s. du carré civique de Saint-Boniface, Michel Chartier, adding that he is “cautiously optimistic” about the next steps in the municipal process.

“It is increasingly obvious that the City must act as a partner of the community in this matter. This is an essential condition to ensure a promising and dynamic future for this heritage site. The carré civique is at the heart of the Frenchspeaking identity of Saint-Boniface, of Manitoba as a whole and is also seen as one of the founding places of the Francophonie in Western Canada.

If adopted by the Standing Policy Committee on Property and Development, the report will then be submitted to the executive committee before going to the municipal council. The May 9 meeting is therefore of crucial importance for the future of the civic square.

“We invite everyone who shares an interest in the future of the site to come and attend the meeting on May 9 and show their support for a civic square that remains the property of the City, so that this French-speaking heritage is preserved and highlighted and remains at the service of everyone to enjoy,” adds Michel Chartier.

Les Ami.e.s. du carré civique de Saint-Boniface recommend a solution whereby the City of Winnipeg negotiates a long-term lease with an entity linked to the French-speaking community. That entity would have the mandate to manage the heritage site, to safeguard and develop its public use and its community impact.

The public consultations and survey that took place this winter to find out citizens' opinions on the future of the civic square of Saint-Boniface were organized after Manitoba Possible, which had won the appeal process of offers from the City in 2021, withdrew in March 2023.

Download the press release

If you’re looking for the Winnipeg public service recommendations on the future of the carré civique de Saint-Boniface, you can find them below. They will be discussed at the Standing Policy Committee on Property and Development Regular Meeting Agenda, on May 9.

https://clkapps.winnipeg.ca/DMIS/ViewDoc.asp?DocId=24678&SectionId=730201&InitUrl=

Become a Member

Your $5 annual membership ensures the continuity of the entire St. Boniface Civic Square for the benefit of Manitoba's Francophonie. With your membership, you will receive accurate and current information on the development of this property. You will also have the opportunity to participate in the governance of the organization.

Make a Donation

Les Ami.e.s du carré civique de Saint-Boniface inc. is a charitable organization (charitable number - 793544701) that will issue a tax receipt for all donations received.

One-time donations can be made by PayPal, credit or debit card. • By e-transfer to: Les Ami.e.s du carré civique de Saint-Boniface inc. , with notice to carrecivique@gmail.com • By cheque payable to: Les Ami.e.s du carré civique de Saint-Boniface inc. • Send to our PO Box.

Les Ami.e.s invitent le public à manifester son appui au carré civique le 9 mai

Communiqué de presse

Autres articles

Partager:

Winnipeg, le 2 mai 2024 – Les Ami.e.s. du carré civique de Saint-Boniface invitent le public à consulter le rapport de l’administration municipale portant sur l’avenir de l’ancien hôtel de ville de Saint-Boniface, de son ancienne caserne de pompier et du Jardin de sculptures, qui sera rendu public demain.

Les Ami.e.s. seront présents à la rencontre du comité d’orientation permanent des biens et de l’aménagement qui discutera des recommandations de ce rapport le 9 mai. Nous invitons le public à se joindre à nous pour réaffirmer à la Ville l’importance de ce site patrimonial pour l’ensemble de la communauté.

Dès le 3 mai, on pourra trouver le rapport sur le site web de la Ville. (Nous mettrons aussi un lien vers cette page sur notre propre site web, carrecivique.ca.) Le document rédigé par l’administrateur de biens immobiliers Gordon Chappell vient conclure un processus de consultation exhaustif réalisé au cours de l’hiver.

« Nous sommes impatients de voir ce rapport rendu public et nous nous attendons à ce que la Ville respecte la volonté des citoyens qui se sont exprimés lors des consultations », indique le président des Ami.e.s du carré civique de Saint-Boniface, Michel Chartier, qui se dit « prudemment optimiste » quant aux prochaines étapes du processus municipal.

« Il est de plus en plus évident que la Ville doit agir en partenaire de la communauté dans ce dossier. C’est une condition incontournable pour assurer un avenir prometteur et dynamique à ce site patrimonial, qui est au coeur de l’identité francophone de Saint-Boniface, du Manitoba dans son ensemble et qui est aussi un des lieux fondateurs de la francophonie de l’Ouest canadien ».

S’il est adopté par le comité d’orientation permanent des biens et de l’aménagement, le rapport sera ensuite soumis au comité exécutif avant d’être déposé au conseil municipal. La rencontre du 9 mai revêt donc une importance cruciale pour l’avenir du carré civique.

« Nous invitons les personnes intéressées à venir assister à la rencontre du 9 mai pour manifester leur appui à un carré civique qui restera la propriété de la Ville, pour que ce patrimoine francophone soit préservé et mis en valeur et que le site reste au service du public », ajoute Michel Chartier.

Les Ami.e.s préconisent une solution voulant que la Ville de Winnipeg négocie un bail à long terme avec une entité liée à la communauté francophone, laquelle aura comme mandat de gérer le site patrimonial afin de sauvegarder et développer son usage public et son impact communautaire.

Les consultations publiques et le sondage qui ont eu lieu cet hiver pour connaître l’opinion des citoyens quant à l’avenir du carré civique de Saint- Boniface ont été organisées après que l’organisme Manitoba Possible, qui avait remporté le processus d’appel d’offres de la Ville en 2021, se soit désisté en mars 2023.

Télécharger le communiqué de presse

Suivi aux consultations sur l’avenir du carré civique : le rapport qui sera déposé au comité d’orientation permanent des biens et de l’aménagement le 9 mai est maintenant disponible sur le site web de la Ville. Vous pouvez trouver sa version française ici :

https://clkapps.winnipeg.ca/DMIS/ViewDoc.asp?DocId=24678&SectionId=730201&InitUrl=

Devenir membre

Votre adhésion annuelle de 5 $ assure la pérennité de l’ensemble du carré civique de Saint-Boniface au profit de la francophonie manitobaine. Avec votre adhésion, vous recevrez des informations précises et courantes sur le développement de cette propriété. Vous aurez également l’occasion de participer à la gouvernance de l’organisation.

Faire un don

Les Ami.e.s du carre civique de Saint-Boniface inc. sont un organisme de bienfaisance (numéro de charité – 793544701) qui émettra un reçue pour fin d’impôts pour tous les dons reçus.

Dons ponctuels peuvent être faits par PayPal, carte de crédit ou débit. • Par e-transfert à : Les Ami.e.s du carre civique de Saint-Boniface inc. , avec avis à l’adresse courriel carrecivique@gmail.com • Par chèque payable a Les Ami.e.s du carre civique de Saint-Boniface inc. • Envoyer à notre case postale.